• U.S. Department of Energy
  • Fermilab

Quicklinks

Contact

Section Head:
Kay Van Vreede x3396

Deputy Head
Barbara Brooks x5021

Administrative Support Assistant:
Christine Johnson x3381

Facsimile 630-840-6654
Section Office WH15SW

Senior Safety Officer:
Dave Esterquest x4604

Who Does What in HR


Printer Friendly Version  


Benefits • MS 126

Ann Marie Matthei • X3395 • amatthei@fnal.gov
Jennifer Gondorchin • X4361 • jgondo@fnal.gov
Lucy Ontiveros • X3978 • lucina@fnal.gov
Maria Lifka • X8569 • mlifka@fnal.gov
Tara Turner, Mgr. • X6463 • tturner@fnal.gov

  • Applying for Retirement – Ann Marie
  • Assigned to CERN – benefits Jennifer
  • COBRA/Retiree medical payments – Maria
  • COBRA insurance – Maria
  • Flexible Spending Account – Jennifer
  • (FMLA) Family Medical Leave – Maria
  • HIPAA information – Tara
  • Insurance carrier claim questions/issues – Ann Marie
  • Long Term Disability – Maria
  • Medical, dental, life insurance enroll – Ann Marie
  • Medical ID Card questions – Ann Marie
  • Notice of Credible Coverage – Tara
  • Retirement Plan enroll 401(a)/403(b) – Jennifer
  • Service Award Program – Lucy
  • SSC plan administration – Tara
  • Suggest future benefit changes – Tara
  • Travel insurance (CHUBB) – Tara
  • Vacation Donation Maria
Top of page

Children's Center • MS 348

Mary Simmons • X3762 • msimmons@fnal.gov
Patti Hedrick • X3762 • daycare@fnal.gov

  • Day Camp schedule/program information – Patti & Mary
  • Day Care enroll/policy/program information – Patti & Mary
  • Maternity Closet – Patti & Mary
  • School Age Children’s program – Patti & Mary
Top of page

Compensation • MS 124

Jane Sylvester • X3417 • jrubel@fnal.gov
Stacey Vassallo, Mgr. • X4363 • masters@fnal.gov
Steve Rueter • X6647 • rueter@fnal.gov

  • Compensation policies/procedures –Stacey, Jane & Steve
  • Promotion and R&R Program tracking – Jane
  • Compensation issues from Chief Accelerator, Chief Operating Offices and the Office of the Chief Financial Officer – Jane
  • Compensation issues from Chief Research, Chief Information, Chief Project and the Chief Technology Offices – Steve
Top of page

Employee Assistance Program (EAP) • MS 117

Kathy Burke, On-site Counselor • X3591 • kburke@fnal.gov

Top of page

Human Capital Management • MS 124

Heather Sidman, Mgr. • X3326 • hsidman@fnal.gov
Laurie Pederson • X2988 • couperus@fnal.gov
Jackie Zolna • X6471 • jzolna@fnal.gov

  • Employee records – Laurie
  • Employment verification – Laurie
  • FermiWorks – Jackie, Heather & Laurie
  • Personnel file review – Laurie
  • Reports: DOE/Lab-wide – Jackie
Top of page

Employee Relations • MS 124

Juanita Frazier, Mgr. • X3793 • frazier@fnal.gov
Kathleen Venn Bowers • X4367 • kvb@fnal.gov

  • Collective bargaining/labor relations – Juanita
  • Employee relations questions/issues – Juanita
  • Personnel policies/procedures – Juanita
  • Performance management – Juanita
  • To-join Travel (Scientific Personnel) – Kathleen
Top of page

Employment • MS 116

Cara Brown • X3793 • cnbrown@fnal.gov
Chris Raymond • X5212 • craymond@fnal.gov
Juanita Frazier, Mgr. • X3793 • frazier@fnal.gov
Kathleen Venn Bowers • X4367 • kvb@fnal.gov
OPEN

  • Cooperative Education Program Chris
  • Engineering recruitment Chris
  • Employment policies/procedures – Juanita
  • Lawful employability (I-9) processing Cara &Chris
  • Scientific recruitment Cara &Chris
  • IT recruitment Cara
  • New Hire orientation –Cara &Chris
  • On-Call Program – Kathleen
  • Relocation/interview travel – Kathleen
  • Seasonal/summer employment –Cara &Chris
  • Senior management recruitment – Juanita
Top of page

Equal Opportunity and Diversity Office • MS 117

Sandra Charles X4574 scharles@fnal.gov
Linda Diepholz X3415 diepholz@fnal.gov

  • Administrative support/General inquiries Linda
  • Diversity/Inclusion initiatives Sandra
  • Equal Opportunity legal compliance/Affirmative action plans – Sandra
  • Individuals w/disabilities and Disabled Veterans– Linda
    Online employment application assistance
  • Internship Programs – Sandra
    TARGET - high school
    Cooperative Education - Community College, undergraduate
    SIST - undergraduate
    GEM - graduate
  • Outreach – Sandra
    Liaison: minority groups, women, veterans & individuals w/disabilities
    Employee volunteer opportunities
Top of page

HR Partners

First point of contact on all HR questions, issues and concerns.

Chief Accelerator Office, Chief Operating Office, Director’s Office
Heather Sidman x3326 hsidman@fnal.gov
Monday - Friday - AD, Cross Gallery, MS 306

Chief Information Office, Chief Technology Office, Chief Finance Office, ESH&Q
Jeff Artel x3325 jartel@fnal.gov
Monday - Friday a.m., WH-4NE, MS 112
Monday and Thursday p.m., ICB 1st floor
Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday p.m., FCC 1st floor

Chief Research Office, Chief Project Office, FESS
Deanne Randich x4669 dslapa@fnal.gov
Monday, Wednesday and Friday - PPD, WH-8W, MS 208
Tuesday and Thursday - SiDet, Lab A, MS 310

Top of page

International Services Visa Office • MS 103

Kappy Sherman • X3811 • kappy013@fnal.gov
Amanda Thompson • X3933 • petersen@fnal.gov
Stacey Vassallo, Mgr. • X4363 • masters@fnal.gov
Valery Stanley • X3933 • vstanley@fnal.gov

  • Long-term assignment outside U.S. – Amanda & Valery
  • Non-U.S. interns –Amanda & Kappy
  • Permanent residence –Amanda & Valery
  • Policies/procedures – Stacey
  • Visas: H and J and applications – Amanda, Kappy & Valery
Top of page

Users OfficeMS 232

Kim Pearce • X3111 • kpearce@fnal.gov
Linda Granbur • X4376 • lgranbur@fnal.gov
Stacey Vassallo, Mgr. • X4363 • masters@fnal.gov

  • Computing privileges for Users Linda
  • User access: ID/Badge – Linda
  • Users Executive Committee – Kim

Office for Professional and Organization Development • MS 107 • MS 124

Barb Brooks, Mgr. • X5021 • bbrooks@fnal.gov
Karen Karlix-Smith • X4365 • karlix@fnal.gov
Monica Holmes • X4634 • mholmes@fnal.gov

  • Computer courses – Barb
  • Fermilab Management Practices (FMP) enrollment – Karen
  • FMP enroll for “make-up” modules – Karen
  • FRA Scholarship – Karen
  • Leadership/management development – Barb
  • Professional development courses – Barb
  • Scheduling a vendor course – Barb
  • Technical courses – Barb
  • Training Center room reservations – Karen
  • Tuition Assistance Program – Karen
  • University of Chicago Tuition Remission Program – Karen
Top of page

Section Office • MS 107

Barb Brooks, Deputy Head • X5021 • bbrooks@fnal.gov
Chris Johnson • X3381 • johnsonc@fnal.gov
Kay Van Vreede, Head • X3396 • vanvreed@fnal.gov

  • Conflict of Interest form – Chris
  • General HR feedback – Kay
  • Outside employment/consulting form – Chris
  • Sick leave letters – Chris
Top of page

Wellness • MS 126

Jeanne Ecker • X2548 • jkoester@fnal.gov
Lucy Ontiveros • X3978 • lucina@fnal.gov

  • Class registration – Lucy
  • New classes and recreation activities – Jeanne
  • Movie ticket sales – Lucy
  • Memberships: pool and recreation facility – Lucy
  • Recreation facility operation, clubs, leagues & pool – Jeanne
  • Wellness programs – Jeanne
Top of page